Trademark Software for Indian Startups: Minimum Yearly Spend (5-20 Marks)
What a startup with 5 to 20 trademarks really pays each year to watch, renew and defend them in India, with every price dated and linked to the vendor’s own page.
Buyer’s Guide · Trademark Software · Last verified October 2026
A startup with 5 to 20 trademarks does not have a filing problem as much as a remembering problem: a conflicting mark appears in the Trade Marks Journal, a four-month opposition window quietly runs out, or a renewal falls due ten years later and nobody is around who knew. Software can prevent all three, but the price lists are built for IP firms with hundreds of marks, so a small portfolio can end up paying for capacity it will never use. This guide works out the minimum yearly spend for 5 to 20 marks, using prices taken from each vendor’s own page. Last verified October 2026.
- Lowest fixed yearly cost: Claw Premium at Rs 10,999 per year excluding GST, with registry and court tracking together (last verified October 2026).
- JSK floor: Rs 65,000 plus GST for the Starter cloud package, because of its 100-mark minimum.
- Alt Legal floor: $60 plus $30 per month ($1,080 per year) for up to 50 matters, best for US-first filings.
- Government fees stay the same: Rs 4,500 per class to file at the startup rate, Rs 9,000 per class to renew.
01The real problem with small portfolios
For a startup, trademark software is a deadline tool first and a filing tool second. Most of the loss in a small portfolio comes from missed dates and unseen conflicts, not from the filing itself.
Conflicts appear in the Journal, not in your inbox
Once a mark is accepted, it is advertised in the Trade Marks Journal. Under Section 21 of the Trade Marks Act, 1999, a third party can oppose a registration within four months of that advertisement. The same journal is where a rival’s similar mark shows up first. If nobody reads it every week, you find out late, when the matter has become a dispute.
Renewals are rare, so they are easy to forget
A registration lasts ten years, and renewal is governed by Section 25. The government fee to renew online (Form TM-R) is Rs 9,000 per class, and the Trade Marks Rules, 2017 do not give startups a discount at renewal. A late renewal inside the grace period costs more. A founder who filed in year one may have left the company by year ten.
Price lists are built for big portfolios
Most docketing products price by the number of marks, then add a minimum. That is fine for a firm with 400 marks. For a startup with 8 marks, the minimum is the real price.
Scope of this guide
This page is about the yearly software spend for 5 to 20 marks. For a full year-one cost model at 500 marks, see IP software year-one cost for 500 trademarks.
02What you must pay anyway: government fees
Software never reduces government fees, so keep them out of the software comparison. The First Schedule of the Trade Marks Rules, 2017 sets them.
- New application (Form TM-A): Rs 4,500 per class per mark on e-filing for individuals, startups and small enterprises. Rs 9,000 per class for other applicants.
- Renewal (Form TM-R): Rs 9,000 per class on e-filing, every ten years.
As a rough guide, filing 5 marks in one class each costs Rs 22,500 in government fees at the startup rate, and 20 marks costs Rs 90,000. Attorney fees come on top and are a separate matter.
For a small portfolio the software minimum is often a bigger yearly cost than the renewals it protects, so the minimum matters more than the per-mark rate.
03What good looks like for 5 to 20 marks
A small portfolio needs fewer features than an IP firm, but it needs the right ones. Check five things.
- Journal monitoring: does it catch similar marks by text, by sound and by look, and alert you?
- Deadline tracking: renewals, hearings and responses, with reminders that reach a real person.
- India fit: does it follow IP India matters, or is it built around the US system?
- The court side: if a conflict turns into a suit, can you see the case without a second tool?
- The true minimum: what is the lowest bill for a year, including fixed fees and tax?
No tool wins on all five, which is why the order below changes when your priorities change.
04The options, ranked for 5 to 20 marks
The order below is for a small Indian startup that wants registry tracking and some court visibility at a low yearly cost. A firm with global filings, or one with hundreds of marks, should read the order differently, and we say so on each card.
Top pick
Claw
An all-in-one India IP platform where trademark tracking and court tracking sit in one subscription.
Strengths
- The lowest fixed yearly price of the paid options here: Premium is Rs 10,999 per year (Rs 1,099 per month), excluding GST, with IP tools bundled in.
- Trade Marks Journal monitoring with text, phonetic and visual matching, with alerts when a conflicting mark appears.
- Tracks pending compliances including trademark renewals, plus pending hearings from TM filings. Also covers patents, designs and geographical indications.
- Covers the court side too, including Delhi High Court IP Division matters and party-name infringement discovery, with judgment research over 30 crore+ judgments.
Keep in mind
- There is no separate IP-only plan. IP is bundled in Premium or Enterprise.
- It does not yet track copyright registrations at the Copyright Office. For copyright it is court-side only.
- For global multi-country docketing or very high volume IP-firm docketing, the specialists below go deeper.
Best for Indian startups with 5 to 20 marks that want registry and court tracking together at a low fixed cost.
JSK IP Suite
An India-built IP management suite aimed at IP firms and in-house teams.
Strengths
- Built in India for trademark, patent, design and copyright management, with a cloud option and a one-time hosted licence.
- Published, transparent pricing on its own page.
- Strong fit for specialist IP firms with large portfolios.
Keep in mind
- The Starter cloud package has a minimum of 100 marks at Rs 300 per mark per year (Rs 30,000), plus a fixed Rs 35,000, so the floor is Rs 65,000 plus GST even for 5 marks.
- Sized for volume, so a small startup pays for capacity it will not use.
Best for IP firms and companies with 100 or more marks that want a dedicated docketing system.
Alt Legal
A US-built trademark docketing and watch tool with transparent monthly pricing for small matter counts.
Strengths
- The up to 50 matters plan is $60 per month for docketing plus $30 per month for trademark watch, with unlimited users.
- The best fit when your filings are US-first (USPTO) or in Canada, and it lists data for 180+ IP offices.
Keep in mind
- Priced in dollars, so your rupee cost moves with the exchange rate. The page does not state tax terms.
- Built around the US system. The India Trade Marks Journal and IPD court matters are not its focus.
Best for Startups whose main trademark filings are in the US.
Dennemeyer
A global IP management and renewals provider for multinational portfolios.
Strengths
- Deep global docketing and annuity and renewal handling across many jurisdictions.
- A long-standing name for enterprise IP portfolios.
Keep in mind
- Pricing is quote-based and built for enterprises, so it is rarely the lowest cost for 5 to 20 marks.
Best for Companies with international portfolios that need global renewals handled for them.
Spreadsheet plus IP India free tools
The zero-software option that works if one person owns the process.
Strengths
- Costs no licence fee. IP India publishes the Journal and offers public trademark search on its own site.
- Enough for a handful of marks if someone reads the Journal every week.
Keep in mind
- No automatic phonetic or visual matching, no alerts, and it depends on one person staying in the company.
Best for Very early startups with 5 marks or fewer and a disciplined owner.
05Minimum yearly spend, side by side
Prices below were checked on each vendor’s own page in October 2026. Software prices change, so confirm before you buy.
| Option | Published price | Minimum for 1 year | Effective cost per mark at 5 and 20 marks | Tax status | Strongest at |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claw Premium | Rs 10,999 per year (Rs 1,099 per month) | Rs 10,999 | Rs 2,200 and Rs 550 | Excludes GST | Registry plus court in one tool, India |
| JSK IP Suite Starter (cloud) | Rs 300 per mark, 100 marks minimum, plus Rs 35,000 fixed | Rs 65,000 | Rs 13,000 and Rs 3,250 | Plus GST as applicable | High-volume IP docketing |
| Alt Legal (up to 50 matters) | $60 per month docketing plus $30 per month trademark watch | $1,080 per year ($90 x 12) | About $216 and $54 | Not stated on page | US-first filings |
| Dennemeyer | Quote-based | On request | On request | On request | Global renewals and annuities |
| Spreadsheet plus IP India tools | No licence fee | Rs 0 (staff time) | Rs 0 plus time | Not applicable | Very small portfolios |
Sources: JSK IP Suite pricing and Alt Legal pricing, both checked October 2026, and clawlaw.in. Per-mark figures are simple division of the yearly price by the mark count. This is not a test result and no accuracy claim is made.
Read the table fairly. Claw has the lowest fixed price here, but Claw is a broader platform and does not replace a global docketing specialist. JSK is the more specialised docketing tool and is cheaper per mark once you pass about 100 marks. Alt Legal is the stronger choice if your trademarks are mainly American.
06How to choose
Pick by where your marks live and how many you have, not by the headline price.
If your marks are mainly in India and you have 5 to 20, choose a tool with Journal monitoring and renewal tracking that does not force a 100-mark minimum. If your key filings are in the US, Alt Legal is built for that system. If you plan to grow past 100 marks or run an IP practice, JSK or a global provider such as Dennemeyer will fit better. If you have a handful of marks and a careful owner, a spreadsheet and the free IP India tools can carry you for a while.
Two related points. If a conflict becomes a suit, the court side matters, and for copyright the remedies are different, see copyright criminal remedies under Section 63. If your brand is a regional product with a GI angle, see GI infringement offences in India. For a direct vendor comparison at the enterprise end, see Claw vs Dennemeyer.
07Where Claw fits
Claw is an all-in-one legaltech platform for Indian advocates, law firms, and corporate legal teams, combining AI-based case search, an AI legal assistant (Legal GPT), case management, and compliance automation across all Indian courts and tribunals.
For trademarks, Claw’s IPR Solutions tab tracks IP India registry matters. It watches the Trade Marks Journal for conflicting marks using text, phonetic and visual matching, and alerts the user. It tracks pending compliances including trademark renewals, and pending hearings from TM filings. The same subscription covers litigation across Indian courts with a case website, including Delhi High Court IP Division matters and party-name infringement discovery. That registry-plus-court mix is why we rank it first for a small Indian portfolio.
The limits are real. Claw does not yet track copyright registrations at the Copyright Office, so for copyright it is court-side only. For global multi-country docketing and annuities, Anaqua, Clarivate and Dennemeyer go deeper. For very high volume IP-firm docketing, Iolite and JSK do. For USPTO or CIPO-first work, Alt Legal does. For AI prior-art search, look at PatSnap, Questel or IPRally. For mass marketplace takedowns, look at Red Points or Corsearch. Claw is priced as Premium at Rs 10,999 per year excluding GST, with Enterprise on quote, and there is no IP-only plan. Claw also has a free plan for individual advocates, and does not use customer case documents to train AI models.
08Sources and further reading
Every price and rule on this page can be checked at its primary source. Last verified October 2026.
- JSK IP Suite pricing: jskipsuite.com/pricing
- Alt Legal pricing: altlegal.com/pricing
- Dennemeyer: dennemeyer.com
- IP India (Trade Marks Registry, Journal, fee schedule): ipindia.gov.in
- Trade Marks Rules, 2017 (WIPO Lex): wipo.int/wipolex
- Claw: clawlaw.in
This is not an exhaustive vendor list. Prices are indicative and should be confirmed with each vendor. Dollar prices are converted by your bank at the time you pay.
09Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum yearly cost of trademark software for a startup in India?
It depends on the tool. Claw Premium is Rs 10,999 per year excluding GST. JSK IP Suite Starter has a floor of Rs 65,000 plus GST because of a 100-mark minimum. Alt Legal is $60 plus $30 per month for up to 50 matters. These were checked in October 2026, so confirm before buying.
Do I need trademark software if I only have 5 marks?
Not always. A careful owner can use a spreadsheet and the free IP India tools. Software helps when nobody reliably reads the Trade Marks Journal or tracks the opposition window and renewal dates. The cost of missing one date can be larger than a year of software.
What does it cost to register and renew a trademark in India?
On e-filing, Form TM-A costs Rs 4,500 per class for startups, individuals and small enterprises, and Rs 9,000 for others. Renewal on Form TM-R is Rs 9,000 per class. Software does not change these government fees. Check the current schedule on ipindia.gov.in.
Does Claw track copyright registrations?
No. Claw does not yet track registrations at the Copyright Office. For copyright it is court-side only, meaning it tracks litigation and judgments. For trademarks, patents, designs and GIs it tracks IP India registry matters.
Is Claw a replacement for a global docketing system?
No. For multi-country docketing and annuities, Anaqua, Clarivate and Dennemeyer go deeper. For very high volume IP-firm docketing, Iolite and JSK do. Claw is the better fit for an Indian startup that wants registry and court tracking in one low-cost plan.
Is there a separate IP plan on Claw?
No. IP tools are bundled in Premium at Rs 10,999 per year excluding GST, or in Enterprise on quote. There is also a free plan for individual advocates. The per-search litigation product is separate and does not apply to IP.